help_outline Skip to main content

News / Articles

Derek Robinson Award To Dave MacLaren

Arlene Parker | Published on 12/24/2021


On Tuesday evening at Croquet Canada’s AGM, Dave MacLaren was elected to their Board of Directors, and in addition was presented the Derrick Robinson award for his outstanding contributions to the game of Croquet in Canada. No award was given last year due to general inactivity because of Covid.

Those of us in Bayfield are well aware of Dave’s dedication to the game, and being recognized by the national body is well deserved. On behalf of the Club, its Board of Directors, and myself, I would like to thank Dave for his service and congratulate him for receiving this award.

Background information regarding the award and past recipients: 

The Derrick Robinson Memorial Award

Derrick played a significant role in the development of Croquet Canada by providing important guidance on the successful development of several croquet clubs in Canada and by personally guiding the efforts of a large number of Canadian players towards achieving the level of play necessary for participation at the international level. Derrick played croquet with skill and with high sportsmanship standards.

The purpose of the Award is to recognize the Croquet Canada member who, during a particular year, contributed most to the growth and development of croquet in Canada. The Award was established in 2009 with contributions by some of Derrick’s friends:

Don and Pat Bridges, Robin and Helen Schiele, Mr. and Mrs. Alexander Maconochie, Margaret Buttershaw, Rigmor E. Waheed, Elizabeth Sebastian, Gertrude Leslie, Lynne Skeie, Hugh Tyson, and Derrick’s family including his wife Cathy, son Ian, daughter Sheila, and sister Pat.

Additional donations are welcome.

In light of Derrick’s appreciation of fine, single malt whisky, the Award consists of a carefully selected bottle.

Past Recipients

The award is announced each year at Croquet Canada's annual general meeting. Nominations for the award may be submitted by any member to the Secretary of Croquet Canada before Sept 30. Nominations should include a statement as to how the nominee merits the Award. Criteria considered are membership in Croquet Canada, good sportsmanship, and contributions to the sport of croquet and its growth in Canada and elsewhere.

2019 - Georg Dej

2018 - Pierre Dunn

2017 - Bill Carradine

2016 - Ian MacGregor

2015 - Georg & Joy Dej

2014 - K. Jane Beharriell

2013 - Joe MacDonald

2012 - Brian Cumming

2011 - Chris Loat

2010 - Ken Shipley

2009 - Louis Nel